October 7, 2007

  •  VIEWPOINT ?

    I guess,
    'Tis what's in a man's heart,
    More or less,
    As to what is art.

    DSCN0412

    Which this is supposed to be,
    To my mind, more,
    A well done machinery spring I see,
    To be bought in a hardware store.

    DSCN0405


    This church to me,
    Familiar to me from childhood,
    Is a treasure to see,
    Guess though it's all good,

    One's point of view depends on how you are made,
    To a machinist, a giant spring,
    Is a thing of beauty if it is first rate,
    Railroad bridges are works of art that bring,
     Joy to me, I state.

Comments (6)

  • Tell me, does the church sorta lean or is that the camera angle? lol You are right...art as well as beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

  • the church is beautiful...the rust thing looks like space junk **sigh*
    someone paid for that, right?

  • My Dad was an artist who could draw a perfect portrait in two minutes--but in time he refused to do so, snapping, "Take a photograph!"  Like writers and poets, he sought to bend the envelope "his way," and he would agree wholeheartedly with you when you say, "'Tis what's in a man's heart...as to what is art."  (Maybe it's a giant sun dial? :)

  • How is Doug doing?  I have been out of the loop for a few days, but I hope things are improving for him!

    Kathi

  • I think an artist see a different world often than we do and can show it to us. I love you, Judi

  • ryc-sorry man. Didn't mean it as an artic blast. If people hadn't asked, I wouldn't have posted the translation. I just like the music. I didn't know what it said until I looked it up.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment