January 1, 2008


  • FOX TROT

    Somewhere where we live,  
    Back in the bushes,
    Shelter do we give,
    A fox,  can see how he pushes,
    To and fro in his effort to live.

    When snow is on the ground,
    A chart of his movements,
    Is without sound,
    However, his footprints  make sense.

    I've seen hime once or twice,
    Moving with a sense of assurance,
    Wary, ready to move in a trice,
    It affords me a sense of pleasance,
    To see a wild thing so nice.
    -------------------------------------------
    I can never get to the camera  quickly enough to get a picture.


     

Comments (13)

  • OH MY GOSH! You have a foxy fox! We've had coyotes...but never a fox. I bet he is pretty!

    Hey, I hope  you had a Happy New Year's Eve, Sweet Doug!

    Hugs, C.

  • When I lived on the farm, there were a pair of fox. One year I saw the pups following their parents down the dirt road.

  • We used to see a lot of foxes but haven't seen them for a few years....not since the hurricanes of 2004..I think their shelters were destroyed and they made easy targets for our large birds of prey...eagles and owls and ...hawks.  I really don't like hawks since they prey on animals that I do like.   I know...it's nature and I really shouldn't be so prejudiced.

    Have a great 2008.

    HUGS

    Fran

  • I also have a fox family that lives nearby. I have watched them playing in the sun sometimes. I think the thing I enjoyed the most was watching one of them enjoy an apple from the ground under my apple tree. I did not even know, until then, that they eat apples.

    Have a Happy New Year, Doug and Heather!{V}

  • We had red foxes living in the hay barn one year. Haven't really seen them since but since the Amish have moved in much of the wildlife is scarce. They shoot anything that moves reguardless of species or season. SIGH

    Isn't it interesting the wildlife that can and does live in cities. Deer, coyote, raccoon, foxes etc.

  • Have a wonderful new year, you and your fox and your Heather.

  • We have a gray fox that poops on our driveway every night.  I don't know why he prefers that place to grass or treed and shrubby areas!  It's kind of like him saying, "Hello, I'm here, sharing this spot on the earth with you!"

  • A fox - how wonderful!

  • Hi and have a happy New Year and I think that foxes are about one of the only species in which extended family members such as an older sister help care for the young.  Some humans have been known to do that but not all of them.

  • I have seen a fox or two in town here.  They are fun to watch it is true.  Maybe next time you can get a picture....Happy New Year!  Happiness , Health, Love, and prosperity to you and yours.

  • Smiles...remembers life on the farm.....no foxes here but likely nearby!

  • Park the camera by the window.

  • Well, in my job I've read a lot of books about foxes, but none of them were very complimentary. Now that I've seen a few up a little closer (but not as close as the poor gingerbread boy did), I can see how beautiful and finely-detailed they are, and I hear they are good parents. That means a lot. And, of course, it's always better to see something in the real than a picture. You know, from the one I saw on Thanksgiving Day, I'd suggest that the idea of keeping your camera by the window is a good one--and then, maybe you should point it at the fox, whether you actually are able to get a picture or not. The one I saw up there had been photographed so often that when she saw a camera (and she seemed to see it even when she never looked directly at it), she struck a pose, and held it for awhile.
    Oh Doug, the wind is really blowing hard here--the trailer is creaking and groaning, and I'm praying for the fiber-glass car port! Looks like we're all going to be under siege for awhile--and I know Denver has already had some spectacular winterish weather! It may be gray and gloomy, but we can't say it's dull and boring, can we!
    You and Heather hang in there! If winter comes, can spring be far behind? (Don't answer that yet.)
    Joy

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *