December 25, 2007


  • HOME FROM HIATUS

    Words writ in the sky,
    What could they say ?
    Not I,

    DSCN3719

    Uncrossed tees or undotted eyes, in a way.

    On the way home,
    From a shoulder shot,
    Lavenderish sky gives some,
    Assurance that Christmas day will be somewhat hot.

    DSCN3721

    Home in the night,
    Warm and comfortable,
    In the glow of tree light,
    Unwrapped a few,
    Things glorious and new.

    DSCN3732

    In the night came proof of unreliability,
    A ten per cent chance of snow,
    They said -  but weather always shows undeniably,
    Dawn with six inches on the ground, snow - you know.

    Santa's elf our grandson,
    Clearing walk and porch of white stuff,

    DSCN3737
    And in our drive is Santa's sleigh,

    DSCN3736

    While inside the house,
    Santa is loading,
    No room for a mouse,
    But goodies will he bring.

    DSCN3741

    Heather and I nestled,
    In a spot warm,
    While the rest wrestled,
    Goodies in a swarm.

    DSCN3742

    And then a lineup,
    Of the mamas, grand mas and greats as well,
    Heather and two great grands,

    DSCN3746

    And of daughter Sue,
    Grandma of the same two.

    DSCN3747

    And from there it went on,
    And one might say,
    On and on and on,
    But it was gay, in the right sort of way.

    Many pictures taken, jokes exchanged, stories told,
    Hopes related that we hope come true,
    As well as all our hopes for YOU !



     



     


     


     


     

Comments (12)

  • I am so glad you were able to enjoy your Christmas day, with family gathered around you. Everyone looks so happy in the pictures.  That is a very nice picture of you and Heather. Take care Doug!

  • Good Morning! I'm glad to see all is well out in your world. Isn't it nice to have family to help out, especially with the snow shoveling. Certainly not my favorite thing.
    Lovely family, and a wonderful way to spend the day.
    Merry Christmas!
    Tracy

  • Inside, outside, all around the town.    Seeing the snow pic makes me shiver.    Happy Christmas to all of you.   Ava

  • looks like a special time for all.  and love that pic of you in front of the tree--what a pose--love it!!  take care, doug. 

  • What a great poem! And what a great day you had! YAY!!!

    OH MY GOSH!!! I LOVE seeing your smiling face!! It warms my heart and makes me smile!!! And what great photos of your beautiful wife & family! And that snow! Yikes! Yay for an elf who does snow removal.

    Hugs and Happy Day after Christmas!!!

  • WOW I'm impressed! If I had gotten down on the floor it would have taken a crane to get me up again. Glad you had such a good day. Guess your "storm" is coming this way but think most of ours is supposed to be rain.

  • I'm like Sunny, when I was on the floor I had to crawl to daughter's couch to pull up!

  • How lovely!  How fortunatey you all are to have such an extended family tree all together still!   Blessings!

  • I love the sky , snow , and family fun pictures here.  With fitting word with them.  You and Heather look cozy and happy.  My Christmas was good . A bit sad as my brother had a severe stroke.  He has a hard recovery ahead of him. May your New Year be blessed and happy. 

  • Hope your Christmas was awesome. Mine was. Judi

  • A happy day, I'd say!  Aren't these family festivities grand, though?  Love your "Roman pose" in that snuggly robe, heheheh. 

    Lots of Love from Asia,

    ~ Sil in Corea

  • White but warm Christmas , Doug !
    I love the photos

    In friendship
    Michel

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *