November 30, 2007

  • OUR OWN BAILIWICK

    Like sinking into comfy slippers,
    Lolling in an easy chair,
    Home again is the Gipper,
    Happy as frog's hair.

    DSCN3148

    Backlit  palm,
    Glows in sunlight,
    Here all is calm,
    And bright.

    Off to Golden to shop,
    A few short miles,
    Except the sky up top,
    It works its usual wiles.

    DSCN3121
    Skyfish flees Sun's heat.

    In Golden is the delight,
    Resident Table Mountains settled in,
    Foothills and mountains behind and right,
     On fist, rests chin.

    DSCN3188
    -----------------------------------------------
    I know I am truly home when I am there.

     

Comments (8)

  • Good to see you safely home.  And, you are correct, there is no place like home for your comfort even if everything is perfect elsewhere.

    Great fish you found in those clouds and fun poem bringing you back home.

  • Sounds like it is good to be home!

    We are sitting here with a fire going in the fire palce watching the snow fall on the river through the patio window.

  • For you, it's Golden, for me, it's Tampa...such different climes! Smiles!

  • Funny but I saw that fish in the sky right off before reading what you said.

    Are the palms actual live plants. They look like it. Mine is outside because I've no room in the house. Afraid it may die back when a freeze hits and I'll just hope it grows back. This year I don't feel like running around covering plants.

  • Excellent photo featuring the fern.    Really lovely.   And the cloud fish is so interesting.   I see Bonnie likes this one.  The original sky photo lady, for sure.

    Ava

  • I've heard of sky fish, but never seen one before, that I knew of! Glad you're home! Who looked after Cyrano while you and Heather were off gallivanting on the coast? (Well, almost to the coast, anyway.) I don't know how you traveled with a bad rotor cuff. Lots of ouches, voiced or not!
    If there's anybody I know who could have a good time in a strange, but beautiful and friendly, place, while putting up with pain and maybe a little homesickness, it would be you, Doug! Hope the memories and pictures of the good times stay with you all through the winter.
    Joy

  • I've never thought of happy frog's hair before - chuckle.

  • Wow, it really does look like a fish. How cool that you captured it on film (digital).

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *