November 26, 2007


  •         AS IT IS LIVED

    Rolling along the green floor,
    Of the Willamette Valley,
    Trying for,
    The house on the hill to dally.

    DSCN2768

    From airport - Cascades in background.

    And as we get close to town,
    To the right is where we turn,
    To the place of renown,
    To crash and burn.

    DSCN2776

    More or less officially in  town now,
    Cascades in plain sight,
     Pointed right is the prow,
    Of a limo delight.

    DSCN2777

    Ere we reach mid town,
    We needs must cross the river,
    The Willamette it is known,
    Which from south to north is going.

    DSCN2778
    To the Columbia at Portland

    From the house on the hill,
    On the upper floor,
    Shown across the street, which is lower still,
    Is a house and more,
    Trees higher yet than the  house on the  hill.

    DSCN2804

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Now to go see if I spelled Willamette right ?

Comments (9)

  • Welcome Home!

  • My favorite part of the world!

  • I'll be sure to take pictures of the other side of the Columbia on my trip to Oregon this weekend and post them for you. Hmmm, wonder if I put a note in a bottle, if it would reach you and Heather ;)

  • Yes, you spelled it right! I've spent many years of my life on that river.

  • i love you so much, grandpa

  • YAY!
    Travel log. hehehehehe

  • The view out their window is so nice. I'm surprised you didn't ask them to stop the car so you could get a better shot of the river. lol

  • What a gorgeous trip! You and Heather are such a great example to some of us oldies who just sort of hunker down in one place and wait for it all to be over with. Not only do you travel to different climes, but you take gorgeous pictures and share with the rest of us--and you seem to have good things to say about the trip, both going and coming back! I'd probably talk about what the plane trip did to my ears, if I were you (be glad I'm not!)
    It looks like you traveled to the only place in the world that can match Denver and its environs. Good picking, Doug!
    Thanks for being such a blessing!

  • The view out the window on the bottom is beautiful.  I can tell its a super spot to live.  I just did some basic reading on Wikipedia about the Willamette Valley.  Sounds like some of the finest wine in the world is made there among some of the best nursery stock.  Just from that tidbit I have gathered is is a beautiful part of our country growing lots of things for food as well as beautification.  Who couldn't love a spot in this world of ours like that one.

    Hope your coming home is uneventful and you can rest up for Christmas.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *