January 18, 2008


  • DREAM CYCLE

    There are  times of pain and hurt,
    When, after pills and muscle relaxors,
    This old squirt mounts and speeds a burst,
    Not too often hell for leather.

    Drifting like a feather at times,
    I meet the strangest people,
    Sometimes on the church steeple,
    Maybe in there a creeple,
    Come into the crowd,
    Boistrously loud but  harmless.

    During these times I travel the world over,
    And if cold - go under cover,
    These strange people all know me,
    But until then I know them not.

    But I do get comfort and ease,
    And adventure too,
    Riding my Dream Cycle.

Comments (7)

  • My Knight travels the same Road

  • I remember years ago, when Ken's mother was in the hospital.  She shared a room with another elderly woman.  When I came to visit her, I asked her how she was doing.  She said she was feeling better, but the meds were making her see things that were not there, but seemed so real.  The other woman said the same thing was happening to her.  Both mentioned how real it seemed.  I laughed and said "Well, when it happens, ask what the other one is seeing.  If you are not seeing the same things, you know it isn't real!"  They got a kick out of that.

    I love my dreams.  Usually the people are familiar, but the locations aren't.  Makes them interesting.  Each time I dream about living in the house we built back in the 70's, it changes.  Things are similar, but my dream makes it so much more interesting.  Actually, I would like to live in my "dream" home!! 

  • You are still in my thoughts and prayers! I wish you were feeling all better! I hope riding your "dream cycle" helps! I LOVE this poem!

    Hugs, hugs, and more hugs to you!

    Love,

  • Hello Doug ! Message well received . Unfortunatly you still are in pain with those darn cuff roatators . I hope the treatment and physical therapy take you to a healing as quick as possible . The meds make you dream and you do so touching poems . I liked the one below about your memories .
    I had to make a temporary pause on Xanga because it ' s sad here now. My daughter in law who is suffering of a pleura cancer is not really well . Obviously we keep hope but I am not inspired to post entries at this moment .Also I have to be near Janine who starts his X rays after her breast cancer surgerry so I have no time to stay long face of the computers to write comments ..
         Hopefull you go well soon , Doug ,

                In friendship
                      Michel

  • That was wonderful imagery.  I'm a flyer rather then a cycler.

  • Heh a dream cycle would be the only cycle I could ride.

  • This is a wonderful poem.. Full of imagery it sparks my imagination. I stepped over from Pollyanna Pest. peace & best wishes

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *