November 10, 2007

  •  

    TRIPPING WITH THE CLOUDS

    To Greely on our monthly  trip,
    To see our daughter,
    With ne'er a slip,
    We gladly do what we oughter.

    But on the way up and back,
    Camera and I,
    Have a romance with scenery,
    For one thing, clouds on high.

    DSCN2635

    In the distance skies are blue,
    Nearby the clouds are in shreds,
    Nothing really new,
    Our senses fed.

    DSCN2628

    Like a shot from an alien ship,
    The sun blasts through,
    A light show for the hip.

    DSCN2693

    Only color missing I can tell,
    Is green,
    Not seasonal, doesn't ring a bell.

    DSCN2689

    They play their tune,
    And do what comes naturally,
    And the sun provides its boon.

    DSCN2679

    And what do you know,
    A technicolor show.

    DSCN2655

    The mountains show,
    Try as they might, Sun's rays can't dim,
    Obscured by smog and clouds,
    Rather faint, but I can see 'em.
    -------------------------------------------------
    Our daughter  received a communication device that is hoped
    to give her a means of communication she hasn't
    had before.     We have high hopes that it will
    make life more pleasant for her,  as lacking speech
    all she can do is make vocal noise.   Which in its way
    does convey many meanings,  but not nearly as many
    as speech.

    We enjoy our visits to her at Stephen's Farm where she
    lives with others similarly hampered.   She is happy.
    And  of course,  so are we.

    DSCN2471

    Daughter Penny  and Heather with the mean machine,

Comments (13)

  • My warmest wishes to your daughter.

  • Hi, Doug.  I didn't know you and Heather have a daughter with a disability.  You have probably read about my son, K, who has autism, and is also non-verbal.  He has had some communication devices.  Does Penny have autism? 

    Kathi

  • Lovely sky pics, Doug.  And how wonderful that Penny has a helper now so that she can express herself better.

    Ava

  • beautiful photos. Thank God for your daughters new machine. Prays for her recovery. Judi

  • It would have been wonderful visiting with your daughter! The skies in your photos are truly magnificent, Doug.

  • Liked the last sky picture really well and the others were good too. Love those high western skies. Hope whatever this is helps your dau with communication. Communication is so important in even the smallest things we do.

  • i see you took her to her favorite place--mcdonalds.  that will be wonderful for her to communicate.

  • Wonderful pictures !! I enjoyed them--thanks for sharing--I'm glad your daughter has a new device to help her communicate--bless it will open a whole new world for her when she gets used to it

  • Beautiful pictures!

  • I swooned over these pictures, Doug. They are simply beautiful. Isn't it sad that God doesn't get any awards for his color displays?

    Like Penny, I have modern technology to help me with my hearing impairment. I feel blessed with them. I hope this brings her as much enjoyment as mine do. I worked out a plan to take advantage of my relay phone which writes replies on a screen for me. I do not answer the phone and anyone who is close to me knows that. I let them leave a message and the relay writes it for me. That and closed captioning are my biggest enjoyments! I am glad Penny has you and Heather for I am left with so few family members. To have a sharing parent(s) is the best tool Penny can have!  

  • I am so very happy for the daughter.  I think I have seen this before and it will help the situation .   Oh what lovely pictures and words of the sky and clouds.  They are beautiful.  Much enjoyed by me. 

  • Skies are lovely.

    Can you describe how that machine works? Typed words or pictures?

  • Gorgeous pictures! so glad for your daughter to have that device, & prayers that it works for her!
    Hugs,

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment