November 8, 2007


  • EVER EXPANDING

    There is a house we pass on the way,
    Doing some of our errands,
    Typical old building I'd say,
    Times sands,
    Have spared it in a way.

    DSCN2267

    The street it is on, north and south bound,
    Wasn't there when it was built,
    And I expect,  though sound,
    The east west road was gravel on silt.

    Back then it was way out of town,
    Come summer, a ritzy house,
    For "The Unsinkable Molly Brown,"
    Probably among the myriad cows.

    It is now a place for events,
    Mid the hustle and bustle,
    Of commerce, developments dense,
    Too much traffic to hear the leaves rustle.

    The suburbs are now busy urbs
    From crown of blacktop,
    To cement curbs,
    Will it ever stop ?

Comments (7)

  • The fact that man is a creator and as soon as one desire is fulfilled another takes its place everything is always changing. Judi

  • Oh to have a front porch one can sit on!

  • Enjoy all the pictures you put up. Lots of sight seeing.

  • I love those old houses that persist in the midst of it all. Kind of like us, eh?

  • Only an hour ago did I comment to Mitch about a neighborhood sprouting where corn once stood only 10 years ago. Now, about three miles from here, a mall has grown in just a few short months. It used to make me sad. Anymore, I don't know what to think about it. Now that trees have grown in the neighborhood, I like it better than a corn field. But I don't like the vinyl siding used to build the homes. It's all so complicated!

  • I was raised at the edge of town,   just throw a jacket on the handlebars of my bike and take off into the countryside.

    Shoot,   there isn't any country side nearby anymore.    We will see a bit of it when we go to Greeley, Colorado to visit our daughter tomorrow.    It is 50 miles or so and in between the developments one can see farmland.     There are a few places where the Platte River runs close enough to the road to be picturesque.             

    Please say hello to Eden for me - - - - and y'all have a Happy Thanksgiving.

                               Denver doug

  • Was this house really connected with Molly Brown? Somehow, I also connect her house with the Eisenhowers, too, but I can't remember why. Anyway, it's a solid house, and looks like it's built for entertaining. It reminds me of Bowers Mansion, between Carson City and Reno in Nevada. I bet Molly had more money, but she and Eiley Bowers probably had a lot in common--and wouldn't have liked each other very much, unfortunately, since they each aspired to be high society! This was probably the only house in a whole quarter section, way back when it was built.
    Isn't it amazing when a house has seen more history than we have!
    Joy

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment